What to grow this season?

This little post over at one of my favorite Green Blogs, Re-Nest, is what got me excited about the prospect of planting some cold resistant veggies right now in my Community Garden! It’s too cold yet (low 50’s) to get most herbs and veggies in the ground, but there are some that really love the cold Wisconsin soil. So I got right to prepping my little 4×8 raised bed with some “Black Gold” (aka compost) to nourish the soil before I start direct seeding hopefully some time this weekend. The familia and I have been talking about what we should grow this year and here are the contenders…

Hubby would like artichokes, Anaheim peppers and onions. Our cutie would like brussel sprouts and my picks are, spinach, radishes, romain lettuce and garlic.

I’m planning on direct seeding for the first time and I could definitely use some tips and tricks from anyone who’s tackled this before!

Here’s what I have coming in the mail from Territorial Seeds:

20110503-093833.jpg

20110503-093845.jpg

20110503-093854.jpg

Photos via Re-nest blog

Leave a Reply

