Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

It’s still Blueberry season!  I don’t know about you, but my family loves pancakes.  The “little cutie” can eat them everyday if I let her!  Though her pancake of choice is chocolate chip, I happen to love cornmeal pancakes! Here is a Martha Stewart Living recipe I found via Bakerella, which is a baking blog I’m pretty much obsessed with right now.  Aren’t her images amazing?

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

.Pancakes by Bakerella.

You’ll need:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar, plus two tsp for blueberries
1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup milk

3 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled

1 egg lightly beaten
2 cups blueberries
Extra butter for coating griddle
Maple Syrup
(Makes about 16)

  • Whisk together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt and soda in a large bowl. Set aside.
  • Whisk together buttermilk, milk, butter and egg in medium bowl.
  • Add milk mixture to dry ingredients and whisk together just until combined.
  • Blueberries
  • Toss blueberries in a small bowl with 2 tsp sugar.
  • Heat a griddle over medium heat. Take extra butter and run over surface of griddle. Repeat as necessary throughout process.
  • Pour batter on griddle 1/4 cup at a time.
  • Add some of the sugared blueberries to each pancake.
  • Cook for about 3-4 minutes.
  • Flip and cook the other side for about 2 minutes.

Mmmm…delish!

Blueberry Pancakes

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

  1. Mimi this is way too funny!!! Abe and I went grocery shopping earlier and I got pancake mix b/c I’ve been thinking about them all day…and I don’t even really like pancakes very much, then I looked at your blog and you must have been reading my mind today =)

Leave a Reply

